Swimming Gents and Ladies Open with Scrimmage
Monday, October 8, 2007

SHREVEPORT – The Centenary men’s and women’s swimming teams opened the 2007-08 season with a scrimmage on Saturday, Sept. 29.


In the 200 yard medley relay, the team of Natalie Nazzal, Betsy Smith, Jessica Brown and Natalie Holcomb (1:58.33) won their event by over a second and a half. In the same event on the men’s side, Arron Otto, David Moss, Waldimir Montoya and Dustin Myers topped the event with a time of 1:39.82.


Melanie Zimmerman (30.87) and Arron Otto (26.34) each won the 50 yard breaststroke in a time of 30.87 and 26.34 respectively. Last season’s Mid-Con Newcomer of the Year, Maggie Vaughan, (1:56.95) won the 200 yard freestyle, while Chase Lambert (1:47.88) was just over three seconds faster than Montoya (1:50.84) on the men’s side.


Leslie Wyatt (1:11.64) and Kyle McKee (1:03.36) each won the 100 yard breaststroke, while Alana Gregory (29.01) and Bryan Myers (25.06) were first in the 50 yard butterfly. In the second relay of the afternoon, the team of Lauren Kloepfer, Caitlin Cunningham, Melanie Zimmerman and Gregory won the 200 yard freestyle (1:44.86).


However, during the men’s final relay of the afternoon, Lambert, Rourke Barette, John Cefalu and Ross Gilbert (1:32.10) were just faster than Quinn Larwood, Rustin Green, Clayton Carter and Matthew Blam (1:32.47) in an exciting finish.


In the women’s 100 and 50 yard freestyles, Brown won in a time of 1:07.09, while Leslie Clampitt was victorious with a 25.58. On the men’s side of the 100 and 50 yard freestyles, Adam D’Aquin and Bryan Myers had the top times in each event, as D’Aquin and Myers finished with a 56.74 and a 22.45 respectively.


During the women’s 50 yard backstroke Smith won with a 34.50, while David Moss won the same event for the men (29.17). During the 100 yard butterfly, Brown won for the women with a 1:02.09, while Montoya was tops for the men (53.16).


During the final event of the day, Kloepfer took home the best time in the 200 yard IM with a 2:13.99, while her male counterpart, Robert Hendricks, was first with a time of 2:05.02.