Valdez and Rucinski Named to All-LSWA Team
Sunday, December 6, 2009

HAMMOND, La.-The Louisiana Sports Writers Association announced its 2009 All-Louisiana Collegiate Women's Soccer Teams, selected by the state's Sports Information Directors and sophomore Katie Valdez and freshman Allison Rucinksi were among Louisiana's elite to be recognized for Centenary.

Valdez was named to the LSWA First Team after leading the Ladies to an 11-6 mark on the season. The Houston, Texas native, led the Ladies in all offensive categories, notching career-bests in goals (10), assists (9) and points (29) to earn First Team All-Summit League. She was a dominant force among league leaders, topping the league in shots (90), shots per game (5.00), points per game (1.61), assists (9), and assists per game (0.50). She also finished second in points (29) and third in goals (10) and goals per game (0.56). This season, Valdez had two matches, where she finished with two goals (UT-Brownsville & Southern Utah) and one where she tallied a goal and an assist, which proved to be the game winner (IPFW).

Fifteen student-athletes representing seven different state institutions earned All-Louisiana honorable mention honors and Rucinksi topped Centenary with that recognition.

Rucinski scored four of her five season goals in the first four games of the season. She tallied one assist against Letourneau after scoring her first collegiate goal. She led Centenary in game winning goals with three and was tied for second on the team with goals (5) and third in points (11) as a true freshman. She also recorded the best SOG percentage (.684) on the team.

2009 LSWA All-Louisiana Women's Soccer Team

First Team
Malorie Rutledge - LSU - MF - Sr. - Sharpsburg, Ga.
Melissa Clarke - LSU - MF - Sr. - Norcross, Ga.
Natalie Santana - Southeastern La. - MF - Jr. - Cypress, Calif.
Maiya Cooper - Southeastern La. - F - Fr. - Hawthorne, Calif.
Katie Valdez - Centenary - F - So. - Houston, Texas
Alana Clark - McNeese State - MF - Jr. - Tuscon, Ariz.
Carlie Banks - LSU - F - Fr. - Peachtree City, Ga.
Rachel King - Louisiana Tech - F/MF - So. - O'Fallon, Mo.
Chelsea Potts - LSU - D - Sr. - Aurora, Ill.
Kiva Gresham - Louisiana Tech - D - Sr. - Aurora, Ill.
Lacey Bockhaus - Southeastern La. - GK - So. - San Leandro, Calif.

Player of the Year: Malorie Rutledge, LSU
Newcomer of the Year: Allysha Chapman, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Maiya Cooper, Southeastern Louisiana
Coach of the Year: Blake Hornbuckle, Southeastern Louisiana

Honorable Mention: Karly Dagys, Southeastern La.; Chelsea Gibbs, Northwestern State; Dana Mayer, Southeastern La.; Kaity Mattson, Nicholls; Candice Wallace, Southeastern La.; Chelsea Brozgold, Northwestern State; Keisha Brown, Nicholls; Cayla Chatman, Louisiana-Lafayette; Raydan Phillips, Louisiana-Monroe; Kyle MacIntosh, Southeastern La.; Carolyn Noble, Nicholls; Alyssa Chapman, LSU; Allison Rucinski, Centenary; Mo Isom, LSU; D'Nae Capron, Southern