Centenary Legend Named To Atlantic Sun 25th Anniversary Team
Thursday, March 25, 2004

MACON, Ga.Willie Jackson, the all-time leading scorer in Centenary basketball history, has been voted onto the Atlantic Sun 25th Anniversary Team by fans who voted on the Atlantic Sun’s website.

Jackson, who played for the Gents from 1980-84, was the top vote getter from the two-week poll. He is the only player in conference history to win the player-of-the-year award three times and is the league’s all-time scorer with 2,535 points.

“I’m elated. This is a true honor and could not have happened without my fellow players and coaches,” Jackson said when told of the results. “It is a joy to see the other players who I played with doing well and that the league is continuing to get stronger.”

Fans were allowed to vote for any student-athlete who played in the conference. When the voting ended on February 27, over 500 votes had been tabulated. Jackson, now the boys’ basketball coach at Loyola Prep in Shreveport, is joined on the Anniversary Team by Thaddeous Delaney (College of Charleston), Shernard Long (Georgia State), Sam Mitchell (Mercer), and Jeff Sanders (Georgia Southern).

The Atlantic Sun Conference was formally known as the Trans America Athletic Conference. Centenary was a charter member of the TAAC from 1979 until 1999. After four years as an independent, Centenary is presently in its first year of competition with the Mid-Continent Conference.