Oakland and Oral Roberts Take Cross Country Titles
Saturday, October 29, 2005

Files associated with this release:
Mid-Con Championships-Women
Mid-Con Championships-Men

Lori VonPingel

Laura Deas

Halley Grantham

Ashley Voorhies

Taylor Robertson

VALPARAISO, Ind. – For the first time in eight years a Southern Utah team did not walk away with a team title at the Mid-Continent Conference Cross Country Championships. The Oakland men earned their second title in school history and the Oral Roberts women picked up their first-ever cross country crown at the Mid-Con Cross Country Championships in Valparaiso, Ind., on Saturday. The Centenary teams placed seventh (men) and ninth (women) while participating in their third league championship. 

Oakland’s Adam Frezza won the individual title on the men’s side, while Faithy Kamangila, who was also the first to cross the finish line in 2004, became just the second women’s runner in conference history to win two career individual titles (Oakland’s Kristie Kieffer). Coach of the Year honors went to Oakland’s Paul Rice (men) and Oral Roberts’ Joe Dial (women), while Newcomer of the Year accolades went to Southern Utah’s Dallas Eborn and Valparaiso’s Laura Rolf.

Oakland recorded 38 points to edge Southern Utah (42), which had won seven of the last eight Mid-Con men’s team titles. Oral Roberts (73) was third, followed by IUPUI (95) and Western Illinois (101). Rounding out the finishing order were Valparaiso (170), Centenary (196), UMKC (233) and Chicago State (264).

The Gents were paced by Michael Haydel who finished 32nd overall with a time of 27:31.1. Adam Walton (38th – 27:50.0), William Boothe (40th – 27:56.9), William Fell (41st – 28:18.0), and Ryan Duplantis (45th – 29:08.7) rounded out the scorers for the men’s squad.

The men’s All Mid-Con first team selections were led by Frezza (24:51.3), who was joined by teammate Paul Kulisek (25:16.2). Southern Utah placed Eborn (25:24.7), Chad Sanada (25:25.0) and Shaun Vernon (25:30.3) on the first team, while second-place finisher James Wanjiku (24:52.4) of Oral Roberts and IUPUI’s Brad Wheeler (25:31.7) round out the first-team selections.

Oakland landed a pair of athletes on the second team in Jason Young (25:36.0) and Andrew Lawrick (25:47.7). Oral Roberts also had two representatives on the second team in Shaun Smith (25:37.7) and Prince Mumba (26:00.3). The final three members of the All-Conference second team are Southern Utah’s Justin Leavitt (25:42.8), IUPUI’s Brandon Cole (25:51.4) and Western Illinois’ Tim Bradley (25:51.8).

The women’s side saw Oral Roberts finish the race with 51 points to top seven-time defending champion Southern Utah, which finished with 62 tallies. Valparaiso (74), Oakland (94) and UMKC (97) complete the Top 5, followed by Western Illinois (125), IUPUI (161), Chicago State (249) and Centenary (266).

The Ladies’ Lori Von Pingel posted a time of 26:38.9 to place 48th on the women’s side. The rest of the maroon and white scorers were Laura Deas (53rd – 28:23.5), Halley Grantham (54th – 28:48.6), Ashley Voorhies (55th – 29:02.9), and Taylor Robertson (56th – 29:08.2).

Kamangila (21:19.2) led the All Mid-Con first team selections and is joined by teammates Diana Chelimo (21:23.1) and Mable Kunihira (22:22.7) who finished second and fifth, respectively. UMKC placed two runners on the first team as Christine Ensign (21:42.6) and Sara Hiller (22:35.7) finished third and sixth, respectively. Rounding out the first team are Valpo’s Rolf, who posted a school-record time of 22:08.5, and Southern Utah’s Amy Gochnour (22:41.1).

Southern Utah led the second team with three selections as Heidi Houle (22:51.5), Tawny Parks (22:55.4) and Jodi Welcker (22:57.4) were honored. Western Illinois’ top finisher Sarah Swain (22:42.3) is a second team honoree, while Valparaiso’s Danielle Nunnelly (22:46.0), Oakland’s Laura Fisher (22:48.5) and Oral Roberts’ Sanna Kouba (23:02.7) round out the second-team selections.

2005 Mid-Con Cross Country All-Conference Teams


First Team
Dallas Eborn, Southern Utah
Adam Frezza, Oakland
Paul Kulisek, Oakland
Chad Sanada, Southern Utah
Shaun Vernon, Oral Roberts
James Wanjiku, Oral Roberts
Brad Wheeler, IUPUI

Second Team
Tim Bradley, Western Illinois
Brandon Cole, IUPUI
Andrew Lawrick, Oakland
Justin Leavitt, Southern Utah
Prince Mumba, Oral Roberts
Shaun Smith, Oral Roberts
Jason Young, Oakland

Athlete of the Year
Adam Freeza, Oakland

Newcomer of the Year
Dallas Eborn, Southern Utah

Coach of the Year
Paul Rice, Oakland


First Team
Diana Chelimo, Oral Roberts
Christine Ensign, UMKC
Amy Gochnour, Southern Utah
Sara Hiller, UMKC
Faithy Kamangila, Oral Roberts
Mable Kunihira, Oral Roberts
Laura Rolf, Valparaiso

Second Team
Laura Fisher, Oakland
Heidi Houle, Southern Utah
Danielle Nunnelly, Valparaiso
Tawny Parks, Southern Utah
Sanna Koubaa, Oral Roberts
Sarah Swain, Western Illinois
Jodi Welcker, Southern Utah

Athlete of the Year
Faithy Kamangila, Oral Roberts

Newcomer of the Year
Laura Rolf, Valparaiso

Coach of the Year
Joe Dial, Oral Roberts