Centenary Athletes Recognized at Annual Honors Convocation
Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Micah Rhodes

David McElroy

SHREVEPORT—Centenary College held its annual Honors Convocation to recognize its top students and leaders in their respective fields of study and interests last week. Many student-athletes received awards and honors for their exceptional efforts including baseball’s David McElroy and softball’s Micah Rhodes who each received the athletic department’s Athletic Achievement Award.


McElroy and Rhodes each garnered All-Mid-Con accolades last year in leading their teams to postseason success. The Gents advanced to the title game of the Mid-Con baseball tournament and the Ladies won the conference tournament and went on to the NCAA Tournament. Both student-athletes were named conference player of the week multiple times and both carry a GPA of 3.5 or higher.


All total, 37 awards or honors were handed out to current or former Centenary athletes on the evening. Below is a list of all the recipients and the awards they received.







Ancient and Modern Languages:

CODOFIL Award – Elizabeth Lyles (Golf)

Church Careers:

Minnie Hall Brown Award – Holly Richardson (Cross Country)

D.L. Dykes Founder Award – Holly Richardson (Cross Country


Vroonland Secondary Education Award – Andrea Sanchez (Golf)

Frost School of Business:

Institute of Management Accountants Award – Wes Hardin (Soccer)

Woodrow W. Pate Economics Award – Brandon Fulenchek (Baseball)

Faculty Award – Wes Hardin (Soccer)

Health/Exercise Science:

            Tip Davidson Award – Sarah Ball (Gymnastics)

History and Political Science:

            Weems, Schimpf, Gilsoul, Haines & Carmouche Pre-Law Award –

Ali Hilsher (Soccer)


            Virginia Carlton Mathematics Award – Julia Cornelius (Gymnastics)


            Frank Carroll Memorial Endowed Scholarship – David Pennywell(Cross Country)

Natural Science:

            Poppy K. Moon Endowed Award – Kelly Waterhouse (Volleyball)



            L. Hughes Cox Endowed Scholarship – Devin Rourke (Swimming)


            Outstanding Biophysics Student of the Year – Catey Batte (Volleyball)


Honor Societies


Frost School of Business:

            Sigma Beta Delta – Brandon Fulenchek (Baseball), Robert Trempski (Swimming)

            Omicron Delta Epsilon – Dana Davis (Softball), Brandon Fulenchek (Baseball)

History/Political Science:

Pi Sigma Alpha – Versha Sharma (Tennis)


            Psi Chi – Heather Kasparek (Soccer)

Alpha Chi – A.J. Howes (Baseball), Stacy Nelson (Cross Country)

Omicron Delta Kappa – Christine Majchrowicz (Tennis), Stephanie Scanlan (Volleyball)



            Athletic Achievement Award – David McElroy (Baseball),

Micah Rhodes (Softball)

Chaplain’s Office:

            John M. Warren Award – Jennifer Bouso (Cross Country)

Student Life:

            Outstanding Contributions in Student Life – Paul Morrow (Cross Country)

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges –

A.J. Howes (Baseball)

Maroon Jackets 2006-07:

            Jessie Angus (Gymnastics), Taylor Robertson (Cross Country)

Nan Christian:

            Nan Christian Award – Jennifer Bouso (Cross Country)

Students of Distinction:

            Kappa Alpha Most Improved Active – Matthew Shoptaugh (Tennis)

Residence Life:

            Resident Assistant Service Award – Christine Majchrowicz (Tennis)

Honor Court:

            Stacy Nelson (Cross Country)

Student Government Association:

            Student Government Officers – Stephanie Scanlan