Centenary Softball Unveils 2007 Schedule
Thursday, October 12, 2006

Mark Montgomery

SHREVEPORT—Centenary head softball coach Mark Montgomery has announced the schedule for the upcoming 2007 Ladies softball season. The Maroon and White will play in several major tournaments and will square off against seven teams that advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 2006. In addition, the Ladies will host LSU at the Centenary Softball Complex in March.


“I am extremely excited about our schedule this year,” said Montgomery. “We are in several significant tournaments including the Buzz Classic in Atlanta with over 30-plus teams. It is a very challenging schedule, but our team this year should be up to the task.”


The Ladies will participate in tournaments hosted by LSU, Houston, Georgia Tech (Buzz Classic), and Oklahoma. In those events, Centenary will match up with powerhouse teams such as LSU, Missouri, Georgia Tech, Mississippi State, Oklahoma, and Indiana in addition to other schools from major conferences including Memphis, Houston, New Mexico State, and Southern Illinois.


Centenary will go toe-to-toe with LSU three times in the spring, twice in tournaments and once on the Ladies home field in Shreveport. The Tigers will come to town for the second time in recent years on March 21st at 5:30 p.m.


The Ladies host their first home game on February 14th when UT-Tyler visits campus. Other non-conference home games include Nicholls State, Louisiana Tech, Northwestern State, Texas-Arlington, Louisiana-Monroe, North Texas, and Alcorn State. Mid-Continent Conference play begins on the road March 23rd at Western Illinois. The Ladies will welcome UMKC, Southern Utah, and Valparaiso to the Centenary Softball Complex during league play before hosting the Mid-Con Tournament for the first time from May 11th through the 13th.    


The Ladies open the season at the LSU Tournament on February 9th in pursuit of their fourth consecutive winning season in five years under the guidance of Montgomery. Centenary will also look to advance to the NCAA Tournament for the third time in four years.