Ladies Compete at Mid-Con Championships in Indianapolis
Wednesday, February 14, 2007

The Ladies are poised for
a program-best finish
this weekend in Indianapolis

Traveling to Indianapolis, the Centenary women’s swimming team competes in this week’s Mid-Continent Conference, held Thursday to Saturday at IU Natatorium. The preliminary sessions on each day will begin at 11 a.m. (CST), with finals starting at 6:30 p.m.



Single-session spectator admissions are sold at $9 for adults and $4 for children age 5-12. All-sessions passes will be sold for $40.


Parking is available on the campus of IUPUI on a first come, first serve basis. Visitor parking is available in the Natatorium Garage for a fee of $4 per vehicle. Buses can park in the lot located north of New York Street across from the Carroll Soccer Stadium.



Centenary finished last season’s conference championships in fifth place with 316.0 points. The Ladies best finish in the conference championships came with last season’s fifth-place finish, also finishing fifth in the 2004 season.


In this season’s conference championships, the Ladies look to capture their best finish as a program, with multiple Centenary swimmers registering top times in the conference this season.



Centenary holds a 7-7 record in dual meets this season.


Against Mid-Con teams, the Ladies are 4-0 in the 2006-07 season, sweeping IUPUI and Valparaiso at St. Louis University Dec. 19-20.


During the two-day meet, Centenary outscored Valparaiso, 265-155, to earn the sweep. The Ladies swept IUPUI, 268-143, to remain undefeated this season against Mid-Con teams.


Maggie Vaughan won three events during the weekend to lead the Ladies, setting two new school records in the process. In the two meets, Vaughan swept the 500 free for the weekend, finishing with a season-best time of 5:06.51. She also took the 1,000 free with a new school record time of 10:24.62.


Winning two events against the two Mid-Con teams, Leslie Clampitt took the 50 free with a time of 24.99, also winning the 100 free with a time of 54.75 (Feb. 20).


Also winning events for Centenary were Natalie Nazzal (100 free) and Leslie Wyatt (400 IM).



Seven Centenary Ladies swimmers have registered top 10 times in the Mid-Con this season, with three of the seven notching top five times in the Mid-Con.


Freshman Maggie Vaughan has two times amongst the top five times in the conference this season. In the 1,000 free, Vaughan has the second-best time at 10:24.62, standing with the third-fastest time in the 500 free with a time of 5:06.51. She also swam the sixth-fastest time in the Mid-Con this season in the 200 free at 1:56.76.


Fellow-freshman Leslie Wyatt has a team-leading four times in the Mid-Con top 10 this season, standing sixth in the 100 fly (1:00.39), 200 IM (2:13.60) and 400 IM (4:43.00). Wyatt has the 10th-fastest time in the 200 breaststroke at 2:34.35.


Sophomore Taryne Cantillo stands with the third-best time in the 200 IM with a time of 2:12.89, recording the fourth-fastest time in the 100 fly (59.56) and eighth-best time in the 200 fly (2:11.31).


Also standing with top times in the Mid-Con this season are sophomore Leslie Clampitt, and freshmen Natalie Nazzal, Jessica Brown and Rebecca Loy.



For the first time in Ladies swimming history, a Centenary women’s swimmer earned Mid-Con Female Athlete of the Month for the month of December.


Breaking three Centenary records in December, Vaughan has become one of the elite swimmers in freestyle events this season.


At St. Louis University Dec. 19-20, Vaughan broke the school records in the 200 free (1:56.76), 500 free (5:06.51) and 1,000 free (10:24.62). She has been named Mid-Con Swimmer of the Week on two occasions this season.



Scoring at this week’s Mid-Con Championships go to 16 places as follows:

Individual: 20-17-16-15-14-13-12-11-9-7-6-5-4-3-2-1

Relays: 40-34-32-30-28 


At the conference championships, the following individual awards will be given to the competitors: 1st, 2nd and 3rd-place finishers in all events, Swimmer of the Year, Diver of the Year, Coach of the Year and Newcomer of the Year.