Men's Tennis Falls to UMKC and Valparaiso in Mid-Con Cluster
Friday, April 20, 2007

Seva Kostelanetz and the Gents
return to the court Saturday afternoon

SHREVEPORT, La. -- Hosting the Mid-Continent Conference men’s tennis cluster at two locations in the Shreveport area, the Centenary men’s tennis team (0-14, 0-4) fell to both UMKC (5-6, 2-2) and Valparaiso (4-14, 1-2) Friday at the Cockrell Tennis Center.

With all Mid-Con men’s tennis teams in Shreveport for conference action this weekend, the Gents fell to UMKC by a score of 7-0 in the morning session, dropping the match to Valparaiso, 7-0, in the afternoon.

In the morning session at Cockrell (Westside), the UMKC doubles team of Richard Harrison and Patrick Smith defeated the Centenary team of Alejandro Ahuja and Mark Rodgman, 8-1, joining Joe Kane and Darren Chiao as doubles winners for the Kangaroos. The team of Kane and Chiao won by default for UMKC.

In singles action, Harrison, playing as UMKC’s No. 1, captured a straight-sets victory over Ahuja 6-0, 6-0. The win brought Harrison’s record on the season to 7-7 overall, 4-5, playing in UMKC’s No. 1 spot.

Dennis Schwarz and Kane also earned wins in singles play for the Kangaroos. With Kane earning a default win, Schwarz defeated Gents sophomore Seva Kostelanetz 6-1, 6-0 to complete the 4-0 win for UMKC.

Gerry Lozano of Centenary was leading Erwin Quintanilla in the second set 3-2 when his match was suspended. Quintanilla took the first set in the match 6-0.

Against Valparaiso, Alex Lau of the Crusaders defeated Kostelanetz 6-0, 6-0, moving his record to 18-12 this season, the most wins of any Valparaiso player in 2006-07.

Joining Lau with wins, David Bukowski defeated Jacob Dawson of Centenary 6-0, 6-1, while Nic Kooyers earned a 6-1, 6-0 victory over Ahuja. Mike Wagner of the Crusaders earned a default win to start things off in singles play for Valparaiso.

Lau and Mike Shideler earned a doubles win over Ahuja and Rodgman, 8-0, with Bukowski and Wagner earning a default win.

In other conference action in Shreveport, Oral Roberts defeated Western Illinois, 5-2, at the Southern Hills Tennis Center. In a highly-contest match between the two top teams in the conference, the Golden Eagles were led by single wins by Frank Kaehler, Tyrone Hill, Cuan Farquharson and Patrick Guilliod.

UMKC went 2-0 on the day, defeating IUPUI at Southern Hills in the afternoon session.

The conference teams return to action Saturday morning, with all matches played at Cockrell Tennis Center. Action starts at 9 a.m. when IUPUI takes on Western Illinois and UMKC faces Valparaiso.



UMKC 4, Centenary 0

April 20, 2007

Cockrell Tennis Center, Shreveport, La.


1.      Richard Harrison (UMKC) def. Alejandro Ahuja (CC) 6-0, 6-0

2.      Patrick Smith (UMKC) vs. Mark Rodgman (CC), match suspended with UMKC up 6-3, 3-0

3.      Dennis Schwarz (UMKC) def. Seva Kostelanetz (CC) 6-1, 6-0

4.      Erwin Quintanilla (UMKC) vs. Gerry Lozano (CC), match suspended with UMKC up 6-0, 2-3

5.      Darren Chiao (UMKC) vs. Jacob Dawson (CC), match suspended with UMKC up 6-0, 3-2

6.      Joe Kane (UMKC) declared Default Winner



1.      Harrison/Smith (UMKC) def. Ahuja/Rodgman (CC) 8-1

2.      Schwarz/Quintanilla (UMKC) vs. Dawson/Lozano (CC), match suspended with UMKC up 7-2

3.      Kane/Chiao (UMKC) declared Default Winner


Oral Roberts 5, Western Illinois 2

April 20, 2007

Southern Hills Tennis Center, Shreveport, La.


1.      Martin Bostrom (WIU) def. Alex Dargel (ORU) 6-3, 6-4

2.      Frank Kaehler (ORU) def. Justin Junck (WIU) 6-4, 6-2

3.      Tyrone Hill (ORU) def. Andy Jones (WIU) 6-0, 6-3

4.      Cuan Farquharson (ORU) def. Neil Lesinski (WIU) 6-3, 5-7 , 7-5

5.      Patrick Guilloid (ORU) def. Drew Forsberg (WIU) 2-6, 6-3, 6-3

6.      Sean Ragee-Nelson (WIU) def. Clemens Geercken (ORU) 6-1, 6-4



1.      Dargel/Kaehler (ORU) def. Wittenberg/Junck (WIU) 8-4

2.      Hill/Farquharson (ORU) def. Lesinski/Ragee-Nelson (WIU) 9-8 (9-7)

3.      Bostrom/Forsberg (WIU) def. Guilliod/Geercken (ORU) 8-4


Valparaiso 7, Centenary 0

April 20, 2007

Cockrell Tennis Center, Shreveport, La.


1.      Nic Kooyers (VALPO) def. Alejandro Ahuja (CC) 6-1, 6-0

2.      Joe Venegas (VALPO) def. Mark Rodgman (CC) 6-1, 6-2

3.      Alex Lau (VALPO) def. Seva Kostelanetz (CC) 6-0, 6-0

4.      Mike Shideler (VALPO) def. Gerry Lozano (CC) 6-4, 6-1

5.      Dave Bukowski (VALPO) def. Jacob Dawson (CC) 6-0, 6-1

6.      Mike Wagner declared Default Winner



1.      Lau/Shideler (VALPO) def. Ahuja/Rodgman (CC) 8-0

2.      Kooyers/Venegas (VALPO) def. Kostelanetz/Lozano (CC) 8-1

3.      Bukowski/Wagner declared Default Winner



April 20, 2007

Southern Hills Tennis Center, Shreveport, La.


1.      Gabriel Garcia (IUPUI) def. Richard Harrison (UMKC) 6-3, 6-3

2.      Patrick Smith (UMKC) def. Javier Saab (IUPUI) 7-6 (4), 7-5

3.      Dennis Schwarz (UMKC) def. Gregory Sosa (IUPUI) 7-5, 6-0

4.      Erwin Quintanilla (UMKC) def. Ross Gehlhausen (IUPUI) 6-2, 6-2

5.      Greg Fallowfield (IUPUI) def. Joe Kane (UMKC) 6-1, 6-2

6.      Darren Chiao (UMKC) def. Blake Powers (IUPUI) 6-4, 6-4



1.      Harrison/Smith (UMKC) def. Garcia/Sosa (IUPUI) 8-2

2.      Schwartz/Quintanilla (UMKC) def. Saab/Gehlhausen (IUPUI) 9-8 (4)

3.      Guyer/Fallowfield (IUPUI) def. Kane, Chaio (UMKC) 8-2