Gents Fall to Regular Season Champion Oral Roberts
Saturday, April 21, 2007

SHREVEPORT, La. -- Centenary (0-15, 0-5) fell to regular season champions Oral Roberts (8-7, 5-0), 7-0, at the Cockrell Tennis Center Saturday in the Mid-Continent Conference men’s tennis cluster.

Oral Roberts, which clinched the 2006-07 Mid-Con Regular Season Championship with its 5-2 win over Western Illinois Friday, finishes the conference season with an undefeated record. Saturday against the Gents, the Golden Eagles were led by the play of Alex Dargel, who won both his singles and doubles match against Centenary.

Earning a straight-set (6-0, 6-1) win over Centenary’s Alejandro Ahuja in a matchup between the two teams’ No. 1, Dargel also won his doubles match by an 8-0 margin. With Dargel teamed with Frank Kaehler for ORU, the two defeated the Centenary team of Ahuja and Mark Rodgman.

Clemens Geercken won two matches Saturday by default, earning a doubles win with Patrick Guilliod.

The most contested match of the day for the Gents came between Rodgman and Kaehler. Although falling in straight sets (7-5, 6-3), Rodgman fought hard against ORU’s No. 2. Kaehler finished the regular season with a 8-3 record in the No. 2 position for the Golden Eagles.

Seva Kostelanetz, Gerry Lozano and Jacob Dawson were also in action Saturday for the Gents.

In other action at the conference cluster in Shreveport, Western Illinois defeated IUPUI by a 4-3 margin. Also playing at Cockrell, UMKC earned a 4-3 win over Valparaiso.

With both teams cheering on the respective players in doubles play, as Saturday came down to the final doubles match, UMKC’s Dennis Schwarz and Erwin Quintanilla earned a 9-7 win over Nic Kooyers and Joe Venegas of the Crusaders to help the Kangaroos capture the 4-3 win.

With the regular season now over, Oral Roberts is set to host the 2007 Mid-Con Men’s Tennis Championships next weekend in Tulsa, Okla. The Golden Eagles head into the tournament as the No. 1 seed, followed by Western Illinois, UMKC and IUPUI.



Western Illinois 4, IUPUI 3

April 21, 2007

Cockrell Tennis Center, Shreveport, La.



1.      Martin Bostrom (WIU) def. Gabriel Garcia (IUPUI), 7-6 (5), 6-4

2.      Javier Saab (IUPUI) def. Justin Junck (WIU), 2-6, 6-1, 6-3

3.      Greg Sosa (IUPUI) def. Andy Jones (WIU), 6-1, 6-4

4.      Ross Gehlhausen (IUPUI) def. Neil Lesinski (WIU), 6-1, 7-6 (2)

5.      Sean Ragee-Nelson (WIU) def. Greg Fallowfield (IUPUI), 6-2, 6-3

6.      Michael Tiu (WIU) def. Dean Guyer (IUPUI), 7-5, 6-3



1.      Garcia/Sosa (IUPUI) def. Wittenberg/Junck (WIU), 8-5

2.      Bostrom/Forsberg (WIU) def. Saab/Gehlhausen (IUPUI), 8-6

3.      Lesinski/Ragee-Nelson (WIU) def. Fallowfield/Guyer (IUPUI), 8-5


UMKC 4, Valparaiso 3

April 21, 2007

Cockrell Tennis Center, Shreveport, La.



1.      Nic Kooyers (VALPO) def. Richard Harrison (UMKC), 6-1, 2-6, 6-4

2.      Pat Smith (UMKC) def. Joe Venegas (VALPO), 6-1, 7-5

3.      Dennis Schwarz (UMKC) def. Alex Lau (VALPO), 6-3, 4-6, 6-3

4.      Erwin Quintanilla (UMKC) def. Mike Shideler (VALPO), 6-3, 6-2

5.      Dave Bukowski (VALPO) def. Joe Kane (UMKC), 6-2, 6-2

6.      Mike Wagner (VALPO) def. Darren Chiao (UMKC), 6-3, 6-0



1.      Harrison/Smith (UMKC) def. Lau/Shideler (VALPO), 8-5

2.      Schwarz/Quintanilla (UMKC) def. Kooyers/Venegas (VALPO), 9-7

3.      Bukowski/Wagner (VALPO) def. Kane/Chiao (UMKC), 8-3


Oral Roberts 7, Centenary 0

April 21, 2007

Cockrell Tennis Center, Shreveport, La.



1.      Alex Dargel (ORU) def. Alejandro Ahuja (CC), 6-0, 6-1

2.      Frank Kaehler (ORU) def. Mark Rodgman (CC), 7-5, 6-3

3.      Tyrone Hill (ORU) def. Seva Kostelanetz (CC), 6-2, 6-0

4.      Cuan Farquharson (ORU) def. Gerry Lozano (CC), 6-1, 6-1

5.      Patrick Guilliod (ORU) def. Jacob Dawson (CC), 6-1, 6-1

6.      Clemens Geercken (ORU) declared Default Winner



1.      Dargel/Kaehler (ORU) def. Ahuja/Rodgman (CC), 8-0

2.      Hill/Farquharson (ORU) def. Lozano/Dawson (CC), 8-0

3.      Guilliod/Geercken (ORU) declared Default Winners