Sioux Falls to Host 2009-2010 Summit League Basketball Championships
Wednesday, June 27, 2007

ELMHURST, Ill.-The Summit League will head to Sioux Falls, S.D., and the Sioux Falls Arena for its men’s and women’s basketball championships in 2009 and 2010 Commissioner Tom Douple announced today.


“We are very excited about having our basketball tournament in Sioux Falls,” Douple said. “It will be great for the city and the region, and we anticipate tremendous support from the community. We are especially looking forward to bringing March Madness to the state of South Dakota.”


The Summit League Presidents Council voted Monday to move the league’s top event to the largest city in South Dakota. “We look forward to having the tournament in Sioux Falls,” said Dr. Al Goldfarb, president of Western Illinois University and chair of the Presidents Council. “It will provide a very positive experience for our student-athletes.”


Built in 1961, the Sioux Falls Arena is a 7,100-seat facility. It is home to the Sioux Falls Skyforce, an NBA Development League team, the Sioux Falls Storm, an arena football team in the United Indoor Football Association (UIF), and the Sioux Falls Stampede, a United States Hockey League (USHL) team and the 2007 Clark Cup Champions. The arena hosted the 2007 NBA D-League Showcase and also hosts several musical and theatrical productions.


The Summit League Basketball Championships feature the top eight men’s and women’s teams in the conference with the winners receiving automatic bids in the NCAA Tournament. The championship games are televised nationally on the ESPN family of networks. The men’s championship game has appeared on ESPN or ESPN2 each of the last 14 years, while the women’s title game has appeared on ESPNU each of the last two seasons.


The Summit League is comprised of 10 member institutions—Centenary College of Louisiana, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW), Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Oral Roberts University, South Dakota State University, Southern Utah University, and Western Illinois University.