Centenary Lands 73 Student-Athletes on Mid-Con Commissioner's List
Monday, July 23, 2007

ELMHURST—The 2006-07 Mid-Continent Conference Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence has been released and Centenary student-athletes accounted for 73 of the 623 Mid-Con student-athletes honored.

In order for a student-athlete to be selected to the Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence, he/she must carry a 3.00 or better cumulative grade point average, achieve sophomore academic standing at the institution, have used a year of eligibility and be on the squad list in the sport in which he/she is nominated. Transfers, graduate students and junior college graduates must have completed one academic year at the nominating institution. True freshmen, redshirt freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible for the award.

Valparaiso led the way with a league-best 105 selections, edging out Oakland and Western Illinois, which had 103 and 98 recipients, respectively. After Centenary’s 73 came Oral Roberts with 60 and IUPUI with 59 honorees. UMKC (55) and Southern Utah (28) also had student-athletes recognized for their academic achievements.

The complete list of Centenary student-athletes named to the Commissioner’s List of Academic Excellence is provided below by sport. Women’s Cross Country
Molly Broderick

Lori Von Pingle

Taylor Robertson

Men’s Cross Country

Saul Castaneda

William Fell

Michael Haydel

Gerrit Moeller

David Pennywell

Richard Thomas

Brian Williams

Women’s Soccer

Tracy Apgar

Joanna Bunn

Tracee Byrd

Katie Dougherty

Cori Dullnig

Breanne Fletcher

Alexandra Hilsher

Heather Kasparek

Lauren Mills

Anna Pendergast

Men’s Soccer

Osama Buazza

Donnie Henderson

Stephen Longinotti

Gabe Silvas

Aron Taylor


Lindsay Bekelja

Ashlee Freeman

Rebecca Lunceford

Stephanie Scanlan

Chevy White

Women’s Basketball

Brittany Barbee

Cierra Bush

Tracee Byrd

Ricquel Crockrom

Laura Way

Men’s Basketball

Travis Hill

Jeff Montague

Women’s Swimming

Taryne Cantillo

Leslie Clampitt

Murphy Crain

Caitlin Cunningham

Allyson Gann

Beth Geis

Alana Gregory

Rebecca Simmons

Betsy Smith

Nicole Turner

Melanie Zimmerman

Men’s Swimming

Ross Gilbert

Robert Hendricks

Bryan Myers

Dustin Myers

Randy Myers

Women’s Golf

Jessica Garza

Leigh Newton

Men’s Golf

David Viviano

Matthew Williams

Women’s Tennis

Kate Buchanan

Christine Majchrowicz

Jennifer Majchrowicz

Men’s Tennis

Seva Kostelanetz

Mark Rodgman


Dana Davis

Beth Krysiak

Jennifer Martin

Allison McClain

Leslie Postles

Micah Rhodes

Lindsey Virdell


Mike Davis

Brandon Fulenchek

Will Kaage

David McElroy