Several Centenary Swimmers Named All-League
Sunday, February 24, 2008

ELMHURST, Ill. – Four Centenary men’s swimmers were named first team All-Summit League, while six took home second team accolades. On the women’s side, sophomore Maggie Vaughan received a first team award and four Ladies were given second team all-conference.


The Gents four first team all-conference award winners were from the 800 yard Freestyle Relay Team. Freshman Rourke Barrett, senior Ross Gilbert, sophomore Wladimir Montoya and junior Chase Lambert all received the honor after winning the event (6:54.41).


The second team honorees for Centenary were the members of the 200 and 400 Yard Medley Relay teams, as sophomore Jon Cefalu, seniors Adam D’Aquin, Kyle McKee and Dustin Myers, along with junior Bryan Myers and freshman Josh Pena brought home the awards.


Vaughan (17:02.99), who won the first team award after rolling over her nearest competitor by 10 seconds in the 1,650 Freestyle. The second team winners were members of the 800 Yard Freestyle (7:46.27) Relay team, junior Leslie Clampitt, freshman Natalie Holcomb, sophomore Natalie Nazzal and senior Melanie Zimmerman.     


A person is named first-team all-league for finishing first in any event and second-team for finishing second. However, they only appear on one team, so if they finished first in one event and second in another, they are only listed on the first team.