LSWA Honors Starring as Freshman of the Year, Perez as Third Teamer
Sunday, April 4, 2010

MONROE, La.-The Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) has recently announced its All-Louisiana Men's Basketball Teams as Centenary's Daman Starring was recognized as the state's "Freshman of the Year", while teammate David Perez earned "Third Team" honors, voted by the state's sports information directors and respected media.

Starring emerged as one of Centenary's top performers during the 2009-10 season as he started a team-best 28 of the 29 contests and led the team with 33.1 minutes a game. The freshman was second on the team in scoring with 11.7 points per game, while third on the team in field goal percentage at .404 (111-275) and fourth in rebounding with 3.6 boards a game.

He also compiled a team-best 46 steals and finished second on the team with 66 assists.

The Las Vegas, Nev., native eclipsed the double-digit point mark in Centenary's final seven games of the season and scored in double-figures in 16 contests. He recorded a career-best 27 points against Texas College on November 19 in a 9-of-13 (.692) shooting performance from the field.

Starring produced a strong outing against in-state rival, Louisiana Tech, on December 12 with 19 points, including a 5-of-7 effort from behind the three-point line to accompany seven rebounds and four assists.

He was perfect from the free throw line in three games with his best showing in a 6-of-6 showing against Texas College.

"I'm very excited for Daman. He worked extremely hard in the offseason and its great to see it pay off," said head coach Greg Gary.

Perez stepped in immediately and made a strong impact on the young and thriving Gents team as he fired off a dominating opening-game performance with 25 points against NCAA contender and Big East competitor, Marquette.

The New Iberia, La., native led the team in scoring all season, while finishing with a squad-best 15.1 points per game. The super sophomore was first on the team in three-point field goal percentage at .394 (65-165) and free throw percentage at .843 (97-115). He was third best with 54 assists and garnered 29 steals.

Perez notched a career-high 32 points against Southwestern Assemblies of God on January 19 in a 9-of-17 (.529) shooting effort from the floor and 9-of-10 made from the free throw line.

As a sharp shooter, Perez opened the season with four straight 20+ games and finished the season scoring in double-digits 22 times, including 10 straight games to begin the 2009-10 year.

He opened the first five games making 27-of-27 from the line to lead the NCAA in the first two weeks at the charity stripe.

'This award is well-deserved for David. He had done a great job improving his game," said Gary.

Joining Starring and Perez on the All-LSWA team, recognized by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) are as follows:

2010 All-Louisiana Men's Basketball Team

Player of the Year:
Tyren Johnson (Louisiana-Lafayette)

Newcomer of the Year:
Will Pratt (Northwestern State)

Freshman of the Year:
Daman Starring (Centenary)

Coach of the Year:
Kerry Rupp (Louisiana Tech)

First Team:
Anatoly Bose (Nicholls State)
Kyle Gibson (Louisiana Tech)
Tyren Johnson (Louisiana-Lafayette)
Tasmin Mitchell (LSU)
Derrick Parker (LSU-Shreveport)

Second Team:
Ryan Brock (Loyola)
Will Pratt (Northwestern State)
Magnum Rolle (Louisiana Tech)
Bo Spencer (LSU)
Patrick Sullivan (Southastern Louisiana)

Third Team:
Chris Gradnigo (Louisiana-Lafayette)
Michael Harvey (Xavier)
Fred Hunter (Nicholls State)
David Perez (Centenary)
Storm Warren (LSU)

Honorable Mention:
Olu Ashaolu (Louisiana Tech), Charles Carmouche (New Orleans), Dynile Forbers (ULM), Jamel Guyton (Louisiana Tech), Tony Hooper (ULM), Patrick Richard (McNeese State), Tommy Sykes (ULM)