Centenary Wins League Sportsmanship Award
Tuesday, June 8, 2010
ELMHURST, Ill.-Centenary was recently honored by its fellow league institutions with the 2009-10 Summit League Sportsmanship Award. This is the third time in four years the school has been given this prestigious award.

The Sportsmanship Award is given annually to the league institution that is judged by its peers to be the best in the league in living up to the ideals of sportsmanship. Areas for evaluation include student-athlete conduct, staff/administrator conduct, coaches' conduct and event management.

UMKC won the first Sportsmanship Award presented following the 1998-99 academic year, while South Dakota State earned the honor last season. Southern Utah has won the most Sportsmanship Awards with five, while Centenary has won three, IUPUI, SDSU and Valparaiso have each captured one.

The Summit League is comprised of 10 member institutions - Centenary College of Louisiana, Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW), Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Oral Roberts University, South Dakota State University, Southern Utah University and Western Illinois University. The league offers championships in 19 sports.