Three Gents Named to All-LSWA Teams
Sunday, June 20, 2010

NATCHITOCHES, La.-The Louisiana Sports Writers Association (LSWA) announced its All-LSWA college baseball teams this weekend and Centenary placed Boone Whiting, Cliff Shepard and Jeff Ericson on the respective teams voted by the state's sports information directors and selected media.

Whiting was a First Team All-LSWA selection as a right-handed starting pitcher.

3.21 ERA, 6-2 W-L, 1 SV, 14 AP, 13 GS, 1 CG

84.0 IP, 70 H, 38 R, 30 ER, 37 BB, 120 SO, .221 OP AVG

Whiting became the all-time leader in strikeouts at Centenary this season after recording 256 punch outs in just three years, surpassing Kevin Cassidy's record of 208 and now owns the single season record with 120 strikeouts, a 50-year old record last held by Cecil Upshaw in 1963 with 105.

Whiting was honored as Summit League's Pitcher of the Year and 1st Team All-League selection after recording a league-leading 112 strikeouts on the year, ranking him among the top in the nation. Whiting's 32 walks give him a 3.5 to one strikeout to walk ratio, while his 12.92 strikeouts per nine innings also ranked nationally. Of those 112 strikeouts, 62 came against league opponents.

He was also a three-time All-LSWA Pitcher of the Week this season and an 18th round selection to the St. Louis Cardinals in the 2010 MLB First Year Player Draft.

The right-hander had five games this season with at least 11 strikeouts. His best game came in a 12-strikeout performance against 13-time defending league champions, Oral Roberts on 5/14. In that game, Whiting took over the career record with his second strikeout of the game.

In 7 of his 14 appearances, Whiting tossed at least 7.0 innings.

Shepard was honored as a Second Team All-LSWA selection as an outfielder.

 .359 AVG, 206 AB, 74 H, 38 R, 20 2B, 2 3B, 6 HR, 48 RBI, 116 TB, .563 SLG, 4 SB

Shepard was the only player on the Centenary team to start and play in all 54 games this season. The senior opened the season with a strong 15 game hit streak and later produced a mid-season 14 game streak.

He had 25 multi-hit games this season as the No. 3-hole hitter. Shepard led the team in average (.359), slugging percentage (.563), hits (74), RBI (48), doubles (20), home runs (6), and total bases (116). He had many strong outings at the plate, but he drove in 5 runs in one inning at South Dakota State on 4/30 in a 3-for-5 game with three runs scored on a home run and a double.

Shepard was a Second Team All-Summit League selection this season as an outfielder and was named Summit League Player of the Week this season.

Ericson garnered Honorable Mention All-LSWA honors as a utility player.

.314 BA, 140 AB, 44 H, 24 R, 6 2B, 3 HR, 1 grand slam, 28 RBI, 59 TB, .421 SLG, 6 SB

Ericson was a true utility player this season, seeing action in left field, at third base, first base and as the designated hitter. The senior started 40 games and played in 47.

He had 15 multi-hit games this season and four straight games where he had at least two hits.

Ericson hit his first career grand slam on 3/20 vs Georgia State. He was third-best on the team in average (.314) and first in sac flies (5).

2010 All-Louisiana Baseball


P - Zach Osborne, Louisiana-Lafayette

P - Luke Irvine, Northwestern State

P - Nick Pepitone, Tulane

P - Boone Whiting, Centenary

C - Micah Gibbs, LSU

1B - Blake Dean, LSU

2B - Nick Schwaner, UNO

3B - Rob Segedin, Tulane

SS - Jace Peterson, McNeese State

OF - Devon Dageford, Louisiana Tech

OF - Eric DeBlanc, Northwestern State

OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU

DH - Matt Gaudet, LSU

UTL - Blake Crohan, Tulane


P - John James, LSU-Shreveport

P - Justin Ennis, LSU-Shreveport

P - Chris Franklin, Southeastern Louisiana

P - Chad Sheppard, Northwestern State

C - Andrew Brouillette, LSU-Shreveport

1B - Kevin Smith, LSU-Shreveport

2B - Jordan Poirrier, Louisiana-Lafayette

3B - Mark Threlkeld, Louisiana Tech

SS - Justin Boudreaux, Southeastern Louisiana

OF - Oscar Garcia, Northwestern State

OF - Cody Laprarie, Louisiana College 

OF - Cliff Shepard, Centenary

DH - Joe Sparacino, Southeastern Louisiana

UTL - Judd Edwards, ULM


HONORABLE MENTION:  P - Clint Dempster, Nicholls; P - Paul Bertuccini, LSU; P - Jaden Dillon, McNeese; P - Jordan Hymel, SLU; P - Austin Ross, LSU; C - Chad Keefer, Louisiana-Lafayette; 1B - Frazer Hall, Southern; 2B - Joey Ford, LTU; 3B - Chase Lyles, NSU; SS - Austin Nola, LSU; DH - Will Alvis, LTU; UTL - Brody Bourque, Nicholls and Jeff Ericson, Centenary; OF - Cody Laprarie, La. College; OF - Leon Landry, LSU; OF - Brett Comer, Nicholls.


HITTER OF THE YEAR:  Rob Segedin, Tulane

PITCHER OF THE YEAR:  Zach Osborne, Louisiana-Lafayette

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR:  Oscar Garcia, Northwestern State

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR:  Blake Crohan, Tulane

CO-COACH OF THE YEAR:  Jay Artigues, Southeastern Louisiana; Tony Robichaux, Louisiana-Lafayette