Centenary Represented Well on Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence
Thursday, June 24, 2010

ELMHURST, Ill.-The Summit League announced its 2009-10 Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence with a total of 978 student-athletes from all 19 league-sponsored sports honored for their work in the classroom. Centenary placed 78 on the respective list as each of the 15-league affiliated sports had a representative.

In order for a student-athlete to be selected to the Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence, he/she must carry a 3.00 or better cumulative GPA, achieve sophomore academic standing at the institution, have used a year of eligibility and be on the squad list in the sport in which he/she is nominated. Transfers, graduate students and junior college graduates must have completed one academic year at the nominating institution. True freshmen, redshirt freshmen and first-year transfers are not eligible for the award.

Of the 978 student-athletes honored, 26 maintain perfect 4.00 cumulative grade-point averages.

Centenary women's soccer led the way with 12 recipients, while men's soccer and men's swimming followed with 10. Women's swimming placed nine on the list, while women's basketball and softball closely followed with seven and six respectively.

Men's golf and baseball each had five, volleyball honored four, while men's tennis had three and men's cross country and women's tennis each had two. Men's basketball, women's cross country and women's golf rounded out the 78 honorees with one apiece.

Summit League Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence:

Baseball: Dakota Robinson, Justin Kraft, Jeff Schaffert, Jimmy Hoyt, Stephen Tromblee

Men's Basketball: Maxx Nakwaasah

Women's Basketball: Bethany Joseph, Ashley Jackson, Anne Farrell, Quintesa Gould, Natasha Draganic, Beth Alberson, Sarah Weiler

Men's Cross Country: Matthew Keus, Jonathan Martin

Women's Cross Country: Jessica Brown

Men's Golf: Tyler Williams, Mark Weeber, Ryan Sparks, Denver Green, Jesse Gilmore

Women's Golf: Jessica Marquart

Men's Soccer: Todd Faulkinberry, Micah Goodwin, Ben Barcelona, Dragan Hinic, Kyle Mehnert, Jihad Elaydi, Marcos Rodriguez, RB Asenime, Ian Osteen, Aaron Bergman

Women's Soccer: Kate Donnelly, Lauren Cheaney, Kristine Weaver, Maddi Weatherspoon, Candace Rushing, Emily McManus, Catie Depew, Laura Immenschuh, Jordan Smith, Deb Hill, Catlin Orschel, Eren Corapcioglu

Softball: Beth Krysiak, Haley Bassett, Allison Shepperd, Lauren Highsmith, Caitlin Cavarra, Bonnie Matak

Men's Swimming: Rustin Green, David Moss, Clay Malinovsky, Quinn Larwood, David Berude, Matthew Harris, Matthew Blum, John Cefalu, Anthony LeBlanc, Caleb McSorley

Women's Swimming: Lauren Kloepfer, Jessica Brown, Kendra Norman, Leslie Wyatt, Ruth Litwinowicz, Corinne Cormier, Cassie Cloutet, Aurora Owen, Allison Jones

Men's Tennis: Michael Reeks, Jacob Dawson, John Callen

Women's Tennis: Polly Henderson, Catlin Orschel

Volleyball: Kayla Tibaldo, Jennifer Kunze, Brianna Kern, Bethany Kern

The Summit League also recognized Team Academic Achievement Awards in each sport based on percentage of list-eligible student-athletes on the Commissioner's List. Centenary was fortunate enough to be recognized in both softball and women's golf.

Baseball: Oakland (75 percent)
Men's Basketball: Southern Utah (80)
Women's Basketball: North Dakota State (100)
Men's Cross Country: Western Illinois (91)
Women's Cross Country: Oral Roberts (100)
Men's Golf: IPFW/Oakland (100)
Women's Golf: Centenary/UMKC (100)
Men's Soccer: Oral Roberts (67)
Women's Soccer: IPFW (92)
Softball: Centenary/Western Illinois (75)
Men's Swimming & Diving: Oakland/South Dakota (67)
Women's Swimming & Diving: Oakland (94)
Men's Tennis: IPFW/South Dakota State (80)
Women's Tennis: UMKC/South Dakota State (100)
Men's Track & Field: North Dakota State (64)
Women's Track & Field: South Dakota State (86)
Volleyball: Western Illinois (100)

The Summit League is comprised of 10 member institutions - Centenary College of Louisiana, Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne (IPFW), Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), University of Missouri-Kansas City (UMKC), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Oral Roberts University, South Dakota State University, Southern Utah University and Western Illinois University. Eastern Illinois University and the University of South Dakota compete as associate members in men's and women's swimming & diving. The league offers championships in 19 sports.