Swimming Shatters Records; Improves on Day 2
Friday, February 18, 2011

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.-Devin Ross of the Centenary men's swimming team captured the Summit League title in the 50 yard Freestyle to help the Gents move into second place after Day 2, while the Ladies used a second-place relay finish to take over fourth after 13 events.

Ross' 50 yard Free performance highlighted the evening with a time of 20.31, breaking his personal-best to maintain the all-time record, which was previously 20.60 on Jan. 29, 2011 against UNO and OBU.

The 200 yard Medley Relay team of Peter Henry, John Cefalu, Ross and Caleb McSorley swam a record-breaking 1:32.14 for second-place, surpassing their previous fastest time of 1:32.74 which came a year ago at The Summit League Championships. The team consisted of Henry, Ross, McSorley and Ryne Smith.

Also garnering second-place was the 200 yard Free Relay team of Ross, Henry, Josh Pena, and McSorley with a time of 1:21.67. This effort landed them as the fastest 200 yard Free Relay team all-time, surpassing last year's squad's time of 1:21.79. On that team were Ross, Henry, McSorley and Thomas Schwertz.

Matthew Pittman secured a sixth place finish in the 500 yard Freestyle with a personal-best 4:41.60 time.

On the Ladies side, the 200 yard Medley Relay team of Lauren Lassiter, Brittany Wilkens, Rachel Olson and Allison Jones took second with a final time of 1:48.69.

Olson, just a freshman, proved she can swim with the best, as she secured a top-seed in the finals of the 200 yard IM with a record-shattering 2:06.98. Olson finished fifth overall in the event during the finals round. The previous record in that event was by Maddi Wyatt in last year's Summit League Championships with a time of 2:08.97.

The Centenary men trail Oakland (291), but sit ahead of SDSU (164) with 216 points.

The Ladies are behind Oakland (382), SDSU (214.50) and Univ. South Dakota (203) with 115 points.

Competition will continue on Friday through Saturday. For all the latest updates of the Summit League Championships, visit IUPUIjags.com.