Centenary Begins American Southwest Conference Membership
Friday, July 1, 2011

Courtesy of the American Southwest Conference

RICHARDSON, Texas -- Centenary College begins its membership in the NCAA Division III American Southwest Conference today (July 1, 2011) after completing its tenure in the Division I Summit League on June 30.

"The American Southwest Conference membership welcomes our newest member and looks forward to establishing spirited rivalries in athletics and collegial exchanges in academic endeavors," ASC Commissioner Amy Carlton said.

Centenary will participate in 13 ASC championship sports, including baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's golf, men's and women's soccer, softball, men's and women's tennis and volleyball. Additionally, Centenary competes in the non-ASC sports of women's gymnastics and men's and women's swimming and diving.

The College is in the NCAA Division III membership reclassifying process.

"Centenary Athletics is thrilled about its membership in the American Southwest Conference, which will provide Lady and Gent student-athletes with a unique opportunity to embody the institution's mission to live, lead, and learn, as well as the prospects to forge new legacies for this athletic department and their individual teams," said Dr. William Broussard, Centenary Director of Athletics.

With the addition of Centenary, the ASC returns to a 16-member level for the first time since the 2006-07 academic year. The roster of ASC institutions in 2011-12 also includes Concordia University Texas, East Texas Baptist University, Hardin-Simmons University, Howard Payne University, LeTourneau University, Louisiana College, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, McMurry University, Mississippi College, University of the Ozarks, Schreiner University, Sul Ross State University, University of Texas at Dallas, University of Texas at Tyler and Texas Lutheran University.

Sponsored Conference Sports
Baseball; Men's Basketball; Women's Basketball; Men's Cross Country; Women's Cross Country; Men's Golf; Women's Golf; Men's Soccer; Women's Soccer; Softball; Men's Tennis; Women's Tennis ; Volleyball. Other sponsored sports: Women's Gymnastics

(Year approved for conference membership or withdrew from league)
1996: Founding Members: Austin College, University of Dallas, Hardin-Simmons University, Howard Payne University, McMurry University, Mississippi College, University of the Ozarks, Sul Ross State University.
1997: University of Mary Hardin-Baylor joins ASC
1998: East Texas Baptist University, LeTourneau University, Schreiner College (now, University), University of Texas at Dallas join ASC
1999: Concordia University at Austin (now, CU Texas) joins ASC
2000: Louisiana College, Texas Lutheran University join ASC
2001: University of Dallas withdraws membership
2002: University of Texas at Tyler joins ASC
2006: Austin College withdraws membership
2011: Centenary College joins ASC