Sapp named to All-Louisiana Team
Monday, April 6, 2015

MONROE, La. – Centenary’s James Sapp continues to add to his accolades this season as he was named to the All-Louisiana Team as announced by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association. The Shongaloo, La., native, who was named to the third team, is one of 15 players from around the state named to the list.

The only non-Division I player to be named to the team, Sapp has received numerous accolades following the Gents’ season that included a share of the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference regular season title, the first since 1989-90 season in the former Trans-Atlantic Athletic Conference, and a runner-up finish in the conference tournament. The sophomore was named a D-III News All-American Honorable Mention, All-South Region and NABC All-South District selection.

The SCAC Player of the Year averaged a conference-leading 16.3 points per game. He also grabbed 8.0 rebounds per game, which ranked second, and shot 52.1 percent from the floor, which was fourth in the conference. He scored in double figures in 23 contests with 20-plus in eight outings, including a career-high 33 at Trinity on Jan. 23. He also posted seven double-doubles; with a season-high 15 rebounds against Austin College in a 72-68 win. He also earned SCAC Player of the Week honors five times this season.

Centenary finished the season with a 17-10 record and 11-3 in the SCAC.


LSWA All-Louisiana Men’s College Basketball Team


First Team

Desharick Guidry, McNeese State/Sr./F/Lake Charles, La.

Shawn Long, UL-Lafayette/Jr./F-C/Morgan City, La.

Jarell Martin, LSU/So./F/Baton Rouge, La.

 Jordan Mickey, LSU/So./F/Dallas, Texas

Jalan West, Northwestern State, Jr./PG/Bossier City, La.


Second Team

Raheem Appleby, Louisiana Tech/Sr./G/Jacksonville, Ark.

Alex Hamilton, Louisiana Tech/Jr./G/Chipley, Fla.

Tylor Ongwae, ULM/Sr./F/Eldoret, Kenya

Kenneth ‘Speedy’ Smith, Louisiana Tech/Sr./G/St. Petersburg, Fla.

Zeek Woodley, Northwestern State/So./G/Pelican, La.


Third Team

Louis Dabney, Tulane/Jr./G/New Orleans, La.

Majok Deng, ULM/Jr./F/Adelaide, Australia

Kevin Hardy, McNeese State/Sr./G/Lake Charles, La.

Keith Hornsby, LSU/Jr./G/Williamsburg, Va.

James Sapp, Centenary/So./F/Shongaloo, La.


Player of the Year: Jarell Martin, LSU

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Jalyn Patterson, LSU & Bryce Washington, UL Lafayette

Newcomer of the Year: Keith Hornsby, LSU

Coach of the Year: Keith Richard, ULM