Gents claim 12, Ladies two event as Swimming Splits with Hendrix
Wednesday, November 25, 2015

SHREVEPORT, La. – The Centenary College swimming team wrapped up competion in 2015 as the Gents claimed an 89-58 win while the Ladies fell 108-84 against Hendrix on Saturday.

Junior Cameron Barney who turned in an impressive performance to lead the Ladies.

“Performance of the meet came from the woman’s team was captain Cameron Barney. Cameron won the 200 free, 100 fly and finished second in the 500 free, with all season-best times.”

Barney began the day with a second in the 200 medley relay, finishing second with teammates freshmen Kaylee Cook and Elena Ring and sophomore Caitlyn Faulhaber. She had a quick turnaround, taking the 200 yard free in a thrilling race with Christine Gozdalski of Hendrix. Barney touched the wall in 2:04.28, 0.27 seconds faster than her opponent.

After finishing second in the 500 free, Barney quickly turned around and easily took the 100 fly with a time of 1:03.67 seconds, nearly three seconds faster than her opponent.

The men took 12 event titles total, including 10 straight to begin the meet. The men began the day with a thrilling win in the 200 yard medley relay, just out-touching the warriors. The Gents quartet of junior Juan Tapia, freshman Stetson Carlile, senior Arash Ataei and sophomore Zack Harrison claimed the event by just 0.01 seconds, touching the wall in 1:43.38. After freshman Harrison Folse took the 200 free (1:54.74), freshman Zack Norton, Carlile and classmate Caleb Gill swept the top three spots in the 100 backstroke. Senior Erick Norem won the 100 breastroke.

Senior Collin Baker took the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:09.96. Harrison took the 50 free in 22.58 with Carlile won the 100 free in 52.92.

Tapia, who already was a member of the 200 medley relay team, won a trio more events:  the 200 backstroke (2:10.33), the 200 IM (2:08.18) and as a member of the 200 free relay with freshman Cole Wilson, sophomore Mason Kay and freshman Paul Ahluwalia.

Centenary swimming returns to action January 9, 2016, at the Austin College Invitational in Sherman, Texas.