Gents Claim Second Seed, Ladies Fifth in Upcoming SCAC Basketball Tournaments
Sunday, February 18, 2018

LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. – The Centenary Gents basketball team entered Saturday, February 17, needing a trio of results – including a win – to capture the second seed and a bye to the semifinals of the upcoming 2018 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament February 23-25 in Colorado Springs, Colorado. All those results happened for the Gents, who will begin play next Saturday at 3 p.m. CST (2 p.m. MST) against Friday’s winner of the contest between Dallas and Texas Lutheran.

Meanwhile, with Colorado College beating Dallas and Trinity knocking off Schreiner, the seeding was set for the Women’s Tournament even before the Ladies tipped off against Austin College in the regular season finale Saturday night. The Maroon and White claimed the fifth seed and will take on host Colorado College at 6 p.m. (5 p.m. MST) on Friday. If the Ladies win, they take on top-seeded Trinity at the same time on Saturday.

For the Gents, they needed the following things to happen on Saturday to claim the second seed: 1. Colorado College to beat Dallas 2. Win and 3. Trinity to beat Schreiner. Colorado College kept the Gents alive when it knocked off Dallas shortly before tip in the Centenary game. However, the Gents fell behind as much as 12 and needed a big rally to keep hope alive. Trailing by 10 with less than 11 minutes left against Austin College, Centenary used an 11-0 run to take the lead. The Gents won, 83-78, clinching a top-3 seed.

Trinity knocked of SCAC Regular Season Champion Schreiner in the nightcap to create a three-team tie for the second-fourth seed. Centenary, Dallas, and Trinity all finished the season 8-6 conference play, but the Gents finished with the best record among the tied teams to take the second seed.

 

2018 SCAC Women’s Basketball Seeding

  1. Trinity
  2. Austin College
  3. Southwestern
  4. Colorado College
  5. Centenary
  6. Schreiner

2018 SCAC Men’s Basketball Seeding

  1. Schreiner
  2. Centenary
  3. Dallas
  4. Trinity
  5. Colorado College
  6. Texas Lutheran

Friday - Quarterfinals at Colorado College

Men's Game 1 – 1 p.m. CST (Noon MST) - #4 Trinity vs. #5 Colorado College

Men's Game 2 – 3 p.m. CST (2 p.m. MST) - #3 Dallas vs. #6 Texas Lutheran

Women's Game 1 – 6 p.m. CST (5 p.m. MST) - #4 Colorado College vs. #5 Centenary

Women's Game 2 – 8 p.m. (7 p.m. MST) - #3 Southwestern vs. #6 Schreiner

 

Saturday - Semifinals at Colorado College

Men's Game 3 – 1 p.m. CST (Noon MST) - #1 Schriener vs. Winner of Men's G1

Men's Game 4 – 3 p.m. CST (2 p.m. MST) - #2 Centenary vs. Winner of Men's G2

Women's Game 3 – 6 p.m. CST (5 p.m. MST) - #1 Trinity vs. Winner of Women's G1

Women's Game 4 – 8 p.m. CST (7 p.m. MST) - #2 Austin College vs. Winner of Women's G2

 

Sunday - Finals at Colorado College

Men's Game 5 – 1 p.m. CST (Noon MST) - Winner of Men's G3 vs. Winner of Men's G4

Women's Game 5 – 3 p.m. CST (2 p.m. MST) - Winner of Women's G3 vs. Winner of Women's G4